What is the Chakra System?

We humans are quite complex.

Many of us feel that we are not just physical beings possessing conscious minds who only experience the physical world through logic, feelings and emotions alone. When we pay attention to the subtleties inside, It is possible to also experience the spiritual and energetic nature of our beings, as well.

The chakra system is a system that describes specific locations in our bodies that act as energetic centers. It also describes the movement of energy throughout our bodies. and how that energy interacts with both our inner and outer worlds.

The word 'chakra' is a Sanskrit word meaning 'wheel' or 'cycle'. There are seven main chakras, or energetic centers, that run from the base of our spines up to the crown of our heads.

The root chakra is found at the base of our spine and is the foundation of our entire chakra system. It's Sanskrit name, muladhara, is composed of two Sanskrit words - mula meaning “root” and adhara which means “base” or “support”. It is connected to our primal instincts for safety and nourishment, both physical and emotional.

Associated with the color red, it's major themes are connection to our environment, the Earth and ourselves while acting as a link between our internal energetic system and the outer world. This chakra is also associated with our development from birth to 2 years when we establish trust or mistrust of our caregivers, the world around us and life itself.

A few Root Chakra Mantras that I find grounding and supportive:

“In this moment I have all that I need “
“I feel the support of the Earth beneath me.”
“I am at home in my body.”
“I deserve to feel safe and supported by life.”
“ALL BEINGS deserve to feel safe and supported by life.”
“I am rooted in this present moment “
“I have everything I need inside of me”
“It is safe to be in my body.”
“I can rest in the safety of my body.”


The sacral chakra is located just below the belly button and above the pubic bone and is associated with the color orange. It's Sanskrit name, svadhisthana, translates to “one’s own dwelling." It is quite literally the place where we house our sense of confident autonomy as well as sexuality, pleasure and creativity. 

This chakra is associated with development during ages 2 and 3 when we are forming our sense of autonomy. We are driven to explore the world around us and push boundaries in order to understand how the outer world works and to find our place within it.

A few Sacral Chakra Mantras that I find grounding and supportive:

"I am a creative being."
"I enjoy pleasure in all areas of my life."
"I am a lovable and desirable being."
"I am comfortable in my body and I treat it with care."
"I allow my creativity to flow through me."
"I receive pleasure and abundance with every breath I take."
"I spontaneously allow my intuition to guide me."
"I feel safe to explore and enjoy my sexual and sensual nature."
"I choose to feel joy and make a home for it in my body."